ad_exia: (Default)
[personal profile] ad_exia
Feelin' much better (less sore and more awake) after my Target trip - how nice of them to have bike racks right there! ^_^ Although it looks like I should get a kickstand so that my bike doesn't fall over when I lock it up here at the apartment, 'cause they don't have the most supportive racks. Though there is another advantage to my location: the big tree that keeps me in the shade and out of the rain also does the same for my bike. Woo!

Anyway, [livejournal.com profile] cosmorific had a nifty writing meme up on her LJ so I figured I'd fill it out just because. Feel free to skip it. ^^; Nothin' exciting.



What's the last thing you wrote?

Uhm... TeniPuri Mary Sue-ness. >>;;

Was it any good?

Uh, well, it's self-insertion and cross-dressing. I bet no one will ever want to read it, though it certainly amuses me since I'm here all by myself, know no one, and have nothing to do at the moment. ::hides::

What's the first thing you ever wrote that you still have?

I have that story about the sad little rainbow somewhere in my pile o' stuff at home. I have no idea how old I was when I wrote that, but it was very young.

Were they any good?

It was really depressing...

Write poetry?

Yep, though I haven't written any recently and it's probably not very good.

Angsty poetry?

Generally the only time I write poetry is when I'm angsty, though I think sometimes it doesn't always turn out that way. But for the most part yes, it is angsty.

Favourite genre of writing?

It used to be limited to sci-fi, though I'm starting to like fantasy more and more these days.

Most fun character you ever wrote?

Hm... well, Fuuma was totally sadistic, tho' I have to admit it was kinda heady to be able to write someone who just liked to f**k with people for the hell of it. (Maybe this is why I'm covering Fuji in the PoT-ness...)

Most annoying character you ever wrote?

Wufei when he's being a prick, maybe. (No, really, he's not a prick all of the time! XP) Relena was actually pretty... manageable when I wrote her, though I still severely dislike her. >>

Best plot you ever wrote?

I'm pretty proud of my X fic, "Twin Star," though someone reviewed it and told me I was lame for adding another character. It was actually my first try at adding a character to something where the character was very NOT me - she was Sorata, after all. But I suppose I can't expect random people to know or believe that. -_-;

"The Lost Girl" stuff could maybe be made good if I take out the Mary Sue factor; I've wanted to do that for a long time now.

Coolest plot twist you ever wrote?

Coolest plot twist? Hm... Maybe the end of "Twin Star."

How often do you get writer's block?

Often enough. I guess I get blocked a lot easier on original stuff than fanfiction, but that's just because I'm an otaku dork.

How do you fix it?

Actually, usually by writing horrible Mary Sue stuff that no one ever sees. After about two pages of that, I realize that it's not that hard to be typing a story, and move on to whatever it was I was working on.

Write fan fiction?

It's all I ever write anymore, it seems. -_-;

Do you type or write by hand?

Despite what the "real authors" say, I prefer typing to hand-writing by a long shot. Maybe it's just 'cause I hold my pencil incorrectly and write really large, or because I started writing on the computer at a young age, but I really like typing better - I feel like I can see more of what's going on and fix things more easily in a word processor.

Do you save everything you write?

Just about. Even if I hate it, it's still in a file or notebook somewhere. I lost some of my earlier stuff due to computer crashes or replacements, but I think I actually do have most of the stuff I've written archived somewhere.

Do you ever go back to an old idea long after you abandoned it?

I have some I would like to go back to, but I don't think I ever have yet. Like that Gawl story that I started posting on fanfic.net...

What's your favourite thing that you've written?

It's so horrible to say this, but there's a three-page Ryo (Generator Gawl) angst fic that I absitively *love*. I just really liked the sentence structure and hints and everything about it, but though I've tried to re-write is as non-fanfic many, many times, it has never agreed to be anything but Gawlfic. ><;

What's everyone else's favourite thing that you've written?

Well, if you go by reviews, people seemed to really like my "Lost Girl" saga on fanfic.net, though I can't imagine why on Earth that would be. o.o;; Other than that, I don't really know.

Do you even show people your work?

Sometimes, depending on what it is. I post on fanfiction.net and I've entered contests and stuff, but I don't generally shove my writing in peoples' faces or make any real effort to get it read.

Who's your favourite constructive critic?

[livejournal.com profile] hikariblue

Do you have a web site for your writings?

A lot of my fanfic is up here: Aki-chan04

I have a few of my original things floating around on brinkster, but I don't have links to them in particular.

Did you ever write a novel?

I've written novel-length stuff, I think, though I don't know if that's considered a "novel." "Twin Star" was 90-something pages 10-point font single-spaced in Word. And if you lump all the "Lost Girl" or PABO stuff together... I don't even want to think about that. @.@;;

Have you ever written fantasy, sci-fi, or horror?

Yes, yes, and no.

Ever written romance or teen angsty drama?

Unless X or Ryo fics count, no. ^^;

What's your favourite setting for your characters?

In pain - really, I'm so mean to my characters. I'm always hurting them and torturing them and putting them through all kinds of physical harm. I don't understand it myself... >>;

What's one genre you have never written, and probably never will?

Mystery. Can't really stand mysteries, they were just never my thing.

How many writing projects are you working on right now?

At the moment... one, I think, maybe two. Not too many (for once).

Do you want to write for a living?

If only! ::dreamy look::

Have you ever written something for a magazine or newspaper?

Well, I write for the MIT Anime Club newsletter regularly, and I'm going to get published in an anthology, but generally I just write stories.

Have you ever won an award for your writing?

Yes, actually. Going backwards, I won an award for my undergrad thesis, I won the grand prize in some online writing contest, I won first prize and an honorable mention in the MIT Writing Prizes, and I got various writing awards when I was in grade school that I can't quite remember at the moment.

Ever written something in script or play format?

Nope. I think that would be hard.

What are your five favourite words?

Defenestrate, eviscerate, snarky, massively, and adding -ish to things. ^^;

Do you ever parody?

Yeah, I guess... Jen and I used to do it a lot when we were younger, haven't done it so much recently tho'.

What's your favourite thing to parody?

Uh... I don't know. We just wrote really weird stuff involving crossovers.

Do you actually like that thing, or are you spitefully making fun of it?

I don't know how I feel about crossovers... they're rarely done well.

Do you ever write based on yourself?

Yep.

What character that you've written most resembles yourself?

Well, aside from the girl that basically *was* me in "The Lost Girl"... Claus, maybe. ^^; Not really sure.

Where do you get ideas for your other characters?

Well, being that I gank most of my characters because I write fanfic all the time... In truth, I just plain suck at coming up with characters. -_-

Do you ever write based on your dreams?

There's one dream I had that I think would make a kick-ass story and I keep meaning to write it, but generally I guess I don't.

Do you favour happy endings, sad endings, or cliff-hangers?

I guess I like happy endings, though things don't always work out that way so I don't always write them.

Have you ever written based on an artwork you've seen?

I don't think so... though I could.

Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?

Hell yes - bad grammar and spelling just plain *hurt*, so I try to be as correct as I can. Though I admit that it's not like I'm a grammar goddess or anything.

Ever write something entirely in chatspeak? (How r u?)

Eew, no!

Entirely in L337?

Since I'm so *not* L337, no. And I don't think I would even if I could.

Was that question completely appalling and un-writer like?

I don't know... I never thought about the possibilities of stories written entirely in chatspeak or L337 actually existing... ::shudder::

Does music help you write?

Most certainly, though sometimes I have to put on music without lyrics (classical, OSTs) so that I don't get distracted.

Do you have a weblog or livejournal?

Yep, what do you think I'm posting this in? ^^;

Are people surprised and confused when they find out you write well?

Well, given that I have to accept whether I write well or not in the first place... no one's ever expressed any surprise or praise, really.

Quote something you've written. The first thing to pop into your mind.

"I blinked. “And? Echizen’s definitely not a girl,” I spelled out."

Date: 2004-06-12 06:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] silvergirl354.livejournal.com
hey!
I've praised your writing!

Date: 2004-06-12 06:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ad-exia.livejournal.com
Meep, you have! ::bows:: And thanks to you for doing so! ^^; I guess that question is just silly in general...

By the way, I LOVE that icon. ;)

Date: 2004-06-15 12:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] oraxia.livejournal.com
Dude, I know I've at least praised your grammar & spelling... considering I do a lot of editing things that come in that are loooooong and riddled with error. I certainly enjoy your style of writing, if I haven't mentioned it before.

Profile

ad_exia: (Default)
Ali-chan

March 2012

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
181920 21222324
25262728293031

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 04:21 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios